The New Language Barrier

Posted on February 2, 2012. Filed under: Business, Relationship Management | Tags: , , , , , |

 

Anyone that is familiar with American Sign Language knows how far one language can go.  Just like with ASL, English could be broken into a few different languages.  We all are fluent in a couple versions.  There is the one that is spoken with my friends, which differs from the one I speak with my family.  I speak a language at work and another at play.  For those who disagree, think about it: do you speak the same language to a four year old as you do a twenty four year old?

Even with all these new versions, there is yet another new language barrier emerging.  No longer is it as simple as everyone speaking English.  There is a new generation fluent in Acronym and Emoticon, and as they enter the workforce, they bring with them a method of communication with too much punctuation and too few vowels.

Over time, we have moved from a world of face to face interactions to over the phone and have since arrived at screen to screen.  Only about a quarter of over two billion consumers still prefer to solve technical issues over the phone.  Nearly all of Gen Y is on at least one social media site, and three quarters of them are signing in at least once a day.  This has made an impact on their vocabulary and gesticulations.

Is it only a matter of time until American Acronym enters as an acceptable form of communication?   Acronyms and emoticons are noticeably absent from my correspondences’ and I hope to keep it like that. I do not like emoticons and am not up on my acronyms, usually having to check what they mean.  What happens as this generation takes over the workplace and we aren’t speaking the same language?  Acronyms have already made the jump from the screens to conversations.  Is it only a matter of time before they go from play to work?  Will it become commonplace to send an email saying using ‘smh’ and ‘btw’?

With the number of acronyms running rampant, it’s like we are on a military base.  Nearly every letter coupling produces one.  Have entrepreneurs started regret the name of their businesses, innocuous names when they were implemented but now they mean more? 

What company is IDK?  I don’t know…

 

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

4 Responses to “The New Language Barrier”

RSS Feed for The New CRM Comments RSS Feed

This hits the nail square on the head! I just had huge debate with all the teenagers at my job about the proper context of using words, specifically the past tense of text. They all insisted that “texted” was the proper use but I tried to explain that you do not pluralize the word” text”. Long story short I looked it up just to show them and I was dumbfounded by what I read. Apparently the word “texted” is so commonly misused in place of the proper word “text” that the major dictionary company’s are now going to include “texted” as the new proper past tense in the dictionary. Seriously? Are country has become so engulfed in laziness that instead of correcting peoples improper speech we just throw our hands up in defeat. This is a sad day and age we’re in, stupidity and laziness are running wild and instead of correcting it we just change to accommodate it.

I admit to using the word ‘texted’ as well as other similar slang words, but only in my personal correspondence where I also am lazy with punctuation and capitalization. Professionally though, I am very thorough and try not to use anything even remotely questionable. With computers I spell check and Bing to make sure it is as proper as possible. But we live in a society though where a politician can make up a word and then compare herself to Shakespeare. No wonder these kids think its okay.
P.S. my spell check wants to correct texted so I am on your side.

It’s exhausting to seek out knowledgeable individuals on this topic, but you sound like you recognize what you’re speaking about! Thanks


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...